Bookmark and Share

La Altagracia, Dominican Republic, Tourism Information

Puerto Escondido is a small cove where many of the region's small rivers end.

Nisibón is a small town near the cave of the same name, next to the highway that runs from La Vacama to Las Lisas.

La Costa del Coco is an extensive coastline with fine white sands and transparent waters that consists of various beaches: Macao, Cortecito, Bávaro, Cabeza de Toro, Cabo Engaño, Punta Cana and Punta Juanillo. This area has an international airport and a landing strip for jets.

Plaza de Anamuya is a Taino deposit to the northeast of Higuey, near the caves of Los Molinas, El Salado and Los Negros, where pictographs and other primitive writings are conserved.

En Cabeza de Toro annually celebrates the most important blue marlin fishing tournament in the country, in the Canal de la Mona area.

Bahía de Yuma is the mouth of the Yuma River and thus is also known as "Boca de Yuma" (Mouth of Yuma). This is where the "Cueva de Berna" (Berna Cave) can be found along with its important deposit of rupestrian art.

Cabo Falso closes the bay. There is also an archaeological cave near here.

The National Park of the East occupies the entire extreme south with the sections of Martel, Granchorra, El Peñón and Guaraguao, including the Saona Island. An archaeological treasure of the taino culture is kept in this park: the only known taino temple in the Antilles. It is called the José María Cave and has 1,107 pictographs where one can appreciate the use of rock formations in its interior to assign different sacred functions.

Dominicus beach is the first outside the National Park of the East. The park's coast has magnificent white sanded beaches that are deep enough for water sports and swimming.

Bayahibe is a fishing town with small and beautiful coves. The local restaurants cook seafood and fish with the region; sown seasonings and spices.

- Arena Gorda - Los Mart¡nez
- Bávaro - Los Palos
- Bayahibe - Los Ranchitos
- Cabeza de Toro - Playa del Muerto
- Canto Playa - Puerto Amargo
- Dominicus - Punta Blanca
- El Cortesito - Punta Cana
- Eslab¢n - Punta Maim¢n
- Juanillo - Punta Macao
- La Laguna - Punta Sabaneta
- La Majagua
- Uvero Alto
- Los Irios